And the 2010 winners are…

Congratulations to all of the winners of the 2010 Undergraduate Library Research Award!

The grand prize of $1,000 was awarded to Kathleen Humphries, a senior majoring in Music and Communication Studies for her research paper “Healing Sound: Contemporary Methods for Tibetan Singing Bowls.” Kathleen was nominated by Dr. Paul Humphreys.

The two honorable mentions of $450 each went to Dorothy Ford, a sophomore majoring in Humanities, and Kelia McDonald, a sophomore majoring in Natural Science. Dr. Katherine Harper nominated Dorothy’s research paper, “The Greatest Perfection: Spatial Aberrations in Sesshu’s Long Scroll,” and Kelia’s wiki page “Extending XMLPipeDB to Create a GenMAPP-compatible Database for P. aeruginosa for the Analysis of DNA Microarray Data” was nominated by Dr. Kam D. Dahlquist & Dr. John David N. Dionisio.

Each entry included the research project or paper, an essay explaining how the student researched information and used the library, a bibliography, and a letter of nomination from the faculty member who had assigned the paper or project.

The Awards Committee – Lambert Doezema, Chemistry & Biochemistry professor; Nick Rosenthal, History professor; Carmen Mitchell, Digital Projects Librarian; Elisa Slater, Reference Librarian; and Clay Stalls, Manuscript Curator – chose these entries because they demonstrate advanced information literacy practices, use of multiple collections and services in the library, and clear evidence of significant learning.

Dean Kristine Brancolini presented the awards at a special ceremony and reception on Thursday, April 29, 2010 in the Von der Ahe Family Suite on Level 3 of the William H. Hannon Library.