2020 Library Research Award Winners

Now in their fourteenth year, the Library Research Awards recognize and reward LMU students whose research makes expert and creative use of the services, resources, and collections of the William H. Hannon Library to produce a scholarly or creative work. Additionally this year, we added an award category for graduate students.

Each entry includes the research project or paper, an essay explaining how the student conducted their research and used library resources, a bibliography, and a letter of nomination from the faculty member who had assigned the paper or project. The Library Research Awards are generously supported by Thomas Peter Campora, ’66.

Undergraduate Library Research Awards

For the 2020 Undergraduate Library Research Award, a grand prize of $1,000 was awarded to two students: Benjamin Liu and Emily Rawson.

Benjamin Liu won for his work, entitled “Desire: The Proper Home of Aristotle’s Voluntary.” He was nominated by Erin Stackle. The selection committee was impressed not only by Stackle’s letter of support, but by Liu’s extensive use of library collections, services, and resources. Liu is a senior film production and philosophy major who produced this work for PHIL 4706.

Emily Rawson also won a grand prize for her work, entitled “Art on the Weimar Periphery: Contextualizing Lotte Reiniger with Contemporary Women.” Rawson was nominated by Elizabeth Drummond. It was evident from Rawson’s supporting documents that the research process was a transformative experience and illustrated her growth as a researcher. Her bibliography went beyond traditional library resources to include interviews and archival research. Rawson is a senior Animation major who produced this work for HIST 4999.

Joanne Pang, a sophomore marketing major, won honorable mention and was awarded $450. Pang was nominated by Caroline Sauvage for her work, “Divine Culture Reflected by the Miniature Broad Collar.” In her reflective essay, Pang detailed how she used the library catalog, JSTOR, keyword searching, and external libraries to conduct her research. She produced this work for CLAR 4470.

The Undergraduate Library Research Award Selection committee included Elisa Slater-Acosta (chair), Rhonda Rosen, Jessea Young, Morgan Gross, and Ravaris Moore.

Graduate Library Research Awards

For the 2020 Graduate Library Research Award, the grand prize of $1,000 was awarded to Lai Sam.

Lai Sam won for her work, entitled “Maori Pedagogy and Its Effects on Student Achievement.” She produced the work for EDUR 6998 and was nominated by Daniel Christopher-Smith. Sam’s engaging and well-informed research focused on Maori pedagogy and empowering communities while also striving to center Maori voices. Her reflective essay demonstrated “outstanding and expert use of library resources as well as dedication to the research process” including a critical analysis of author and personal bias.

Three honorable mentions, awarded $450 each, went to Chelsea Kwan, Rebecca Gross, and Garret Camilleri.

Garret Camilleri won for his work, entitled “Virtual Reality in Theatre,” which examined audiences’ level of empathy to VR in theatre. He was nominated by Arnab Banerji and produced the work for THEA 6010. Camilleri’s accomplished and diverse bibliography corresponded with expectations for research within the discipline. His work was noted as “timely, astute, and eclectic.”

Rebecca Gross won for her work, entitled “Embodying Trauma: The Body as Archive in Jamaica Kincaid’s Annie John and Edwidge Danticat’s Breath, Eyes, Memory.” She was nominated by Dermot Ryan and produced the work for ENGL 6600. Gross’s compelling work analyzed novels by two Afro-Caribbean women within the interdisciplinary lens of archival theory, embodiment theory, memory theory, and trauma studies. Her reflective essay demonstrated her engagement with the research process and her desire to contribute new scholarship.

Chelsea Kwan won for her work, entitled “The Impact of Dental Care Inequality in Southern California Schools.” She was nominated by Phaizon Wood. Kwan’s work highlights the impact of dental care inequality in Southern California and the United States. According to the selection committee, “Her exceptional reflective essay highlighted her passion for mitigating dental inequality and her interdisciplinary approach to research.” Kwan’s research made use of a variety of resources as well as conducting qualitative research to support data collected from secondary sources. Kwan produced this work for EDSP 6400.

The Graduate Library Research Award Selection committee included Nataly Blas (chair), Glenn Johnson-Grau, Alexis Weiss, Patricia Meyer, and Karen Huchting.

Apply for Next Year’s Awards

Congratulations to our 2020 winners! The Awards Committees chose these entries because they demonstrate advanced information literacy practices, creative use of library collections and services, and clear evidence of significant learning. These works will be available in our Digital Commons. Remember, Lions: any work completed in Spring 2020 is eligible for the 2021 award. So mark your calendars for next year.

pictured above (clockwise from left): Benjamin Liu, Emily Rawson, Lai Sam, Joanne Pang, Chelsea Kwan, Garret Camilleri, and Rebecca Gross