Undergraduate Library Research Award 2013 Winners

Congratulations to all who entered this year’s Undergraduate Library Research Award competition!

We’re delighted to announce this year’s winners, who were recognized at an award ceremony and reception on Tuesday April 30, 2013. Click through each title to read the winning work.


Grand Prize ($1000) : Spencer W. Roberson (Junior, Natural Science)

“The Islet Amyloid Polypeptide hormone Amylin: Its function, effects and uses in medicine”

Nominated by Dr. Hawley Almstedt

Honorable Mention ($450) : Michelle Iafe (Junior, Health & Human Sciences)

“Cinnamon as a prophylaxis against UTI in premenopausal women”

Nominated by Dr. Heather Tarleton

Honorable Mention ($450) : Matthew C. Robinson (Senior, History)

“Divine, Scientific, and Phrenological: A Study of American Religion and Phrenology in the Nineteenth Century”

Nominated by Dr. Carla Bittel

The Undergraduate Library Research Award Selection Committee:

Elisa Slater, Reference Librarian (Chair)

Jennifer Masunaga, Reference Librarian

Charles Hillen, Head of Library Acquisitions & Serials

Nigel Raab, Associate Professor, History

Gabriele Varieschi, Professor, Physics

Pictured, from left to right:

Dr. Joseph Hellige, Provost

Matthew Robinson

Michelle Iafe

Spencer Roberson

Kristine Brancolini, Dean of the Library