LMU Library News

Sunday Jewish Book Group: The Weight of Ink

(30)

Please join us on October 14 at 2 p.m. for a discussion of The Weight of Ink by Rachel Kadish. The discussion will be moderated by Kristine Brancolini, Dean of the William H. Hannon Library.

The Sunday Jewish Book and Discussion Group is free and open to the public. Light refreshments and riveting conversation will be served. The event will take place in the library’s Von der Ahe Family Suite. Please RSVP by contacting Rhonda Rosen at rrosen@lmu.edu or 310-338-4584.

About the Book

“An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A.S. Byatt’s Possession and Geraldine Brooks’s People of the Book. Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, an emigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents’ scribe, the elusive “Aleph.” Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must make in order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind” — Provided by publisher.